Spring Fever Ahh’s & O’s

11 Mar

A girlfriend said the other day that sometimes you have to settle for and an “ahh” rather than an “O”.  We have a running joke between us ever since I exclaimed to our Aussie taxi driver upon exiting on “Wooloomooloo” street in Sydney, that you can never have too many. So with Spring fever getting me hot and sweaty, and fresh from the Institution of Integrative Nutrition Mega Conference in Longbeach last Saturday, I thought I’d share my guaranteed, clothes-on, ahh and O guilty pleasure, Savage Spring Fever Super Shake recipe. Your taste buds will say “ahh” (note if at first they say “ouch”, add more sweetener) and your body will get a big “O”!  And bonus, you can even do it alone…

Ok, so I’m taking my cue from David Wolfe, raw food pioneer and author of many leading books including “The Sunfood Diet System” and “Naked Chocolate” (www.davidwolfe.com).  Addressing our group of Heath Coaches, David shared his mission of “add-ing” as a way to gradually invite people to add raw and living foods into their diet. And though I’d read his books and listened to his lectures, I was inspired to add more vim & vigor into my otherwise Paleo diet.

The goal is to move away from SAD (standard american diet) of HUGE FOOD – tiny nutritients, to tiny food – HUGE NUTRIENTS. Eat less, get more, live a full life and give something back to your planet (did you know it takes 635 gallons to make 1 hamburger?).

So here you go, fresh from my Vitamix 5200:

Savage Spring Fever Super Shake:

1) Liquid Base: I used 1/2 organic orange + organic unsweetened almond milk. Fresh vitamin C and heaps of non-dairy calcium.

2) Aloe Vera: I used 2 floz whole leaf aloe vera juice for skin beauty and digestion.

3) Super Greens: I used 12gm Green Vibrance brand powered organic greens and freeze dried grass juices. This blend of probiotics supports micro nutrition, digestion, circulation and immune systems.

4) Maca: I used 1 tsp of this ancient Incan superfood that boosts the endocrine system and libido, and combats fatigue. I use the gelatinized product–though not completely raw, this process strips out the starch (plus the cute guy at Whole Foods recommended it).

5) Cacao: I used 2 tbsp of this ancient Mayan superfood thats loaded with antioxidants. It’s also known to have the highest dietary source of magnesium, flavanols and polyphenols.

6) Whey Protein: I used 1 scoop of all natural microfilterd hydrolyzed vanilla whey protein for 16g protein. This is the min protein I need 3x per day to support my cardio & strength workouts.

7) Fruit: I added a 1/2 banana and some organic strawberries. Blueberries or gogi berries rock too!

8) Sweetener: I used organic blue agave nectar–squeeze in to taste. Local honey is also fantastic and can help immunities against seasonal allergies, plus is a bit lower on the GI scale.

9) Add ice and blend!

So there you have it.  Try adding a little Savage eating into your day. I promise you’ll have more energy, ahhs….and O’s!

2 Responses to “Spring Fever Ahh’s & O’s”

  1. Aussie friend March 12, 2012 at 1:21 am #

    Once you I finish drinking how long do I have to wait for the “O”?

    • suzymonford March 12, 2012 at 1:34 am #

      Hmmmm, depends who you’re drinking with 🙂

Leave a Reply

