Leaving Comfort(able) Texas

30 Jun

Comfort(able) Texas

Since it was my last Texas Sunday for a while, I was mindful of Dorothy’s famous quote from the Wizard of Oz, “Sometimes you have to travel around the world in order to discover your own backyard.”.  Wheels down with friends for an “exploratory ride” through Comfort Texas, we meandered, toured, and climbed the 20-ish* hills near Skyline drive, all in fun, and to earn our upcoming lunch and wine bar lounging.

For a Texas girl raised on sweaty Helotes nights at John Floores Country Store, long days at the barn training to stay in the saddle regardless of jump or horse, beer drinking and Economics at UT (hook ’em), careers in SA, Austin, Dallas and Houston,  saddling up for the move to Sydney made me appreciate Comfort every bit as much as the other beautiful towns I’ve been lucky enough to cycle through in France, Italy, Australia and the U.S. .
So wish me well as I move far from my comfort zone; one of my friends is keen to say “wherever you go, there you are”.  I believe it, because even as I sit here now, on the other side of the world, I can go to Comfort in my mind, and I’m there.
Love and Cheers Y’all!
5 Responses to “Leaving Comfort(able) Texas”

  1. Jeff Monford June 30, 2013 at 3:43 pm #

    As your brother who shared so much of your growing-up experiences (if not in a saddle but certainly on the premises) and who’s lived a far-flung life, I certainly relate to your appreciation for the beauty of the Texas Hill Country and the comfort that comes from recalling visits to places like Comfort, and Fredericksburg, and of course Austin, and certainly home-town San Antonio. Missing you from Los Angeles!
    Love,
    Jeff

  2. Roger Christian July 1, 2013 at 9:51 am #

    All the best. I will miss working with you. I am in Seville soaking up the sol. Have safe travels. Vaya condios.

    Sent from my iPhone

    • suzymonford July 2, 2013 at 5:39 am #

      Hi Roger,
      I’d have loved to visit with you before I left, but time ran out too quickly! Thank you for your support and encouragement over the years…it means heaps to me! Be well and keep the wheels down!
      -sm

  3. sandy Morander July 1, 2013 at 12:17 pm #

    we miss you already- but know you will be doing great things….keep in touch and most importantly stay happy!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Leaving Comfort(able) Texas | suzymonford - July 2, 2013

    […] Leaving Comfort(able) Texas. […]

Leave a Reply

